My Personal Green Successes and Failures

I am trying as I write these posts to practice what I preach but as I professed in my first post I did not think I could do it all and I am not. But lets start with the good stuff first.

 

Walking- I have tried hard to walk to as many places as I can to do my errands. My personal success story is walking to and from my local farmers market (which is not that local). One week on my way to the market I walked down a street that was having a multi-family garage sale (20 families with ‘recycled’ goods, needless to say the walking kept me from buy more). I still could work on walking more places but I am trying hard.

 

Driving Less- While that seems like a no brainer with walking it is not. I have run a few errands with friends so we have car pooled together which is helpful to the environment.

 

Recycling- My husband and I have done a really good job of putting everything we can in the recycling bin everyday and we have seen a huge reduction in our garbage production.

 

Composting- While I have yet to write a post about it because I do not feel well versed in this yet I am learning. We have two compost piles going right now, one in a plastic compost bin and an open air pile (mostly grass). I have a pail in the kitchen that I put all allowable scraps in to help reduce the garbage created.

 

Using water bottles- I use my Sigg water bottle all the time and just yesterday was able to finally get one for my husband. I have been filling mine up with tap water for weeks now. I have greatly reduced the use of plastic water bottles.

 

Where I am failing…

 

Energy use- Our energy consumption has increased. Partially do to some work being done on the house that has been using a lot of energy but also leaving my computer and lights on more than I should. I need to work harder on making sure that things are unplugged… just the other day I left my phone charger plugged in for two days when I was not charging the phone.

 

Cloth Napkins- I just cannot get my husband to convert. This has been a failure. Maybe if I make him a Met’s napkin (or something manly) he will use it. This is not a big one, but it should have been really easy so in some ways I consider it my biggest failure.

 

Using Canvas bags- I use them at the grocery store but I have not been good about bringing them to other stores. I try to bring them with me but I keep forgetting. I need to get a small foldable bag to put in my purse.

 

While I am happy to say I am trying I wanted to share what has been working and what has not. As we all try to change our habits it is important that we don’t give up even when things get tough to do.  

 

One thought on “My Personal Green Successes and Failures

  1. don’t think of it as failing. just ways you can improve on more since you’re still working on it! i know whole foods has a great folding bag that is the size of a little envelope. i stash them in my car or right by the door so that i see it, grab it, and go!

    as for cloth napkins… i’ve always wondered about this. for instance, in my household, we do not use the dishwasher. we wash dishes by hand and i actually prefer it this way. but i’ve had people tell me this is more of a waste of water. so what about using reusable/cloth products? we arent throwing paper products away, but we are using energy and water to wash (unless you do it by hand, which im sure many people do) so what is the lesser of two evils? i should do some research on that, unless you have some insight.

    i think it’s awesome you’re doing so many other things in an effort to be green though, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

