Green Company Spotlight: Green Dimes

I just signed up a Green Dimes. I could not handle the MASSIVE amount of junk mail I was getting. It was overwhelming, we are getting such amazing amounts of mail we do not need, want, or have asked for. I heard about Green Dimes and thought about doing it but after one week of getting a bag full of junk mail I was at my wits end and had to do something immediately so I went to http://www.greendimes.com

Matt Damon is on their board and has been out promoting the postive benefits that the reduction of junk mail can do for the environment. He has spoken about this company on many public places including, I think, Oprah… and we all know from Julia Roberts and her Sigg reference what a great place that is to promote something!!

Green Dimes is a for-profit company that gets you off of mailing lists. There is a free service you can sign up for that basically provides you with the tools to get off the lists. Here is the description of the three levels of service you can sign up for (from their website).

The GreenDimes Basic service is free and works like this:
  1. Sign up and provide your name and home mailing address.
  2. Log in to the GreenDimes site and choose which mailers you want to stop.
  3. For each mailing list follow our removal instructions. This includes printing, signing & mailing the letters we provide, and visiting marketing companies’ websites to request removal of your name.
  4. Tell us which catalogs you no longer wish to receive.
  5. Monitor the progress of your removal requests through the GreenDimes website and we’ll tell you if any additional actions are required.
For a small fee, the GreenDimes Premium service takes care of everything for you. All you have to do is:
  1. Sign up and provide your name and home mailing address.
  2. Tell us which catalogs you no longer wish to receive, and then sign and mail a few pre-stamped postcards we send you. That’s it!
Plus with GreenDimes Premium, you’ll also enjoy these great benefits:
  • Junk mail removal for additional household members; just enter their names
  • Monthly monitoring of mailing lists to ensure your name stays off
  • 24/7 customer service if you have any questions
  • 5 trees planted on your behalf

I signed up for the best plan I could, the premium plan. I received a welcome pack with my t-shirt, bag, lightbulbs, and children’s book. It came within 4 days of me signing up for the service. It lets me know that they are starting on what I need.

I got my postcards, prefilled out and with the postage already on them. I am mailing them about a week ago. I cannot wait to see how soon my junk mail slows down.

I went on line and logged into my account and asked them to remove me from several catalog mailing lists including Oriental Trading…etc. You can also ask to receive less mailings of catalogs like Victoria Secrets you have three options (do not sell name, receive less mailings, and remove). 

I am calling the 800 number and talking to them about getting me off the credit card offer list because that is the bulk of my junk mail. They are supposed to help you with anything that you get. All I have to do is call the number and they will take care of getting me off that list.

I will keep you updated on how my junk mail has been reduced but I already feel better about it because I know I have someone working it on it for me!!!

One thought on “Green Company Spotlight: Green Dimes

Leave a Reply

